The Department of Chemistry had its origin with St. Michael’s College in 1967 when it was initiated as a Junior College comprising of only Pre – degree courses. In 1980, the Department became independent with the new course in B.Sc. Chemistry main with subsidiaries Physics and Mathematics. To keep pace with the emerging technologies and dynamic changes in the scientific world, and to deliver quality education and job opportunities to the youth of our society, M.Sc. Polymer Chemistry was started in July 2002. Because of the concerted demand from the students and other stakeholders M.Sc. Polymer Chemistry was changed to M.Sc. Chemistry in 2017. Now the Department offers two courses B.Sc. Chemistry and M.Sc. Chemistry and also actively involved in Research.

Quality education can be provided with an efficient blending of excellent research and teaching learning process. Our department have distinguished researchers and excellent educators and we use the modern and best teaching methods for our students. Research is an essential component for a good Chemistry Department. The thrust area of research of Department of Chemistry includes Organic Electronics, Alternate Renewable Energy, Photochemistry, Nanomaterials and Electrochemical Sensors. The research activities of the Department are highly active with sole aim of upgrading the Department to a Research Department in near future. The research programme of the Department is financially supported by University Grants Commission (UGC) and Department of Science and Technology (DST) in the form of Major and Minor Research Projects. In 2015, Department received the prestigious DST-FIST grant and with this the research facilities are improved tremendously.The Department has also signed MoUs with various colleges and reputed research centres in Kerala to strengthen the research activities. The department organizes National and International Conference in alternate years. It is noteworthy that the students of our Department are qualifying various National Eligibility Tests such as JAM, CSIR and GATE examinations and pursuing their higher studies in various reputed research institutes in India and abroad. In 2018 the Department started functioning completely with Green Energy. Department of Chemistry is the first fully Solar Educational Department in the College, totally devoted for the promotion of renewable energy.

A Historical Survey

The Department of Chemistry had its origin with St. Michael’s College in 1967 when it was initiated as a junior college comprising of only Pre-degree courses.  Since June 1980, the department became independent with the new course in B.Sc. Chemistry main with subsidiaries Physics and Mathematics. The first batch successfully completed the degree course in 1983. M.Sc. Polymer Chemistry was started in July 2002. In 2017 M.Sc. Polymer Chemistry was changed to M.Sc. Chemistry.

Prof. K.J. Augustine was the first Head of Department. Prof. V.R. Haridas who was very efficient and dedicated, succeeded him. He retired from St. Michael’s College in April 2001. Two of our colleagues, Prof. W.F. Jayamohan and    Prof. M.A. Mathew, who were selfless and conscientious teachers retired in 1998 and 2000. Prof. S. Peaceamma took over as the Head of the Department from 1st May 2001. The meritorious services of Prof. V.A. Francis who retired in 2007 are praiseworthy. Prof. S. Peaceamma, after six years of laudable service as the Head of the department retired in 2007. She was succeeded by Prof. Catherine Morris, Dr.Jose P. Kalloopparambil andProf. K.A. Haridas.Our colleague, Prof. K. J. John was appointed as the Principal of the college in 2007. Prof. Cheriyan J. Kattezham and Prof. Lester Sebastian also give significant contribution to the growth of the Department. In 2014, Dr. P. Manoj took charge as the Head of the Department. Presently there are eight faculty members in the Department.

Programme and Courses

Our College aims at delivering quality education for personality development modulated by moral and democratic values for a qualitative transformation of the society and our envision embrace national development through the improvement of the educational and socio-economic standards of the backward by imparting affordable education to mould responsible citizens of merit and caliber. Department of Chemistry whole heartily works to raise the name of St. Michael’s College by following this vision. The Department offers the following programmes

  • M.Sc. Chemistry
  • B.Sc. Chemistry
  • Food Science and Quality Control (Add-on Course)

First Degree Programme in Chemistry is a three year course with single main (Chemistry) and two subsidiaries viz. Mathematics and Physics. The postgraduate Chemistry programme is a two year course specialised in Chemistry. The syllabi for the Postgraduate and Undergraduate courses are as prescribed by the University of Kerala.