The Physics Department in the College was started in 1967 with two batches each for the Pre Degree First and Second groups. Later it became three batches each for these groups.
  List of faculty in the beginning

  • Prof.  R Narayana Pillai (Head)
  • Prof. M Benjamin
  • Prof.  P A Jochan
  • Prof.  V Sankaran Unni

The following faculties joined the department as shown below. Prof.  K A Solaman in 1979,Prof.  K V Stella and Prof. K C Sukumaran Achari in 1980, Prof. T J Jameskutty in 1981,Dr. P A Varughese in 1982 , Prof.  Raju Xavier in 1984 and Prof.Augustine Sumesh C J in 2012.
Former Principals Prof. P J Augustine (late) and Prof. Abraham Arakal were also members of this Department for a short period. We also remember the short stint of services of Smt. Rita Paul and Sri. K M Varghese Panicker (late) to this Department . Prof. M Benjamin(late) became the Principal of the College from 1995 to 1997 and Prof. Raju Xavier from 2008 to 2010.
 In 1980 Subsidiary Physics was introduced for the B Sc Chemistry (Main) Degree course.
Our Department was upgraded in 1999 with the introduction of B Sc Physics (Main) course with Electronics and Mathematics as the Subsidiary subjects.This College is one among the four Colleges in Kerala University offering Electronics as the Subsidiary for the Degree course. Hence our Degree course is of much demand. Our Degree course has a sanctioned strength of 24.

Year Pass Percentage No of First Classes
2009 84 15
2010 89 19
2011 82 14
2012 67 12
2013 93 NA

Academic Luminaries

Year Name Rank secured Percentage
2004 Sibi K. S. First 98.2
2006 Revathy S. Second 97.6
2007 Mary Linsa K. S. First 99.8
2009 Ambili S. Second 97.8

Toppers in the Final Year B Sc Degree Examinations

Year Name Percentage of marks
2009 Ambili S. 97.8
2010 Vishnupriya G. 87.0
2011 Mridula M. 84.0
2012 Harikrishnan M P 95.4
2013 Rajasree R. CGPA-3.51